Menu Close



written by David Foster & Paul Anka

“Walk A Fine Line” was released in 1983 and was one of the best albums of Paul Anka’s legendary career. The recording saw the veteran singer/songwriter joining forces with brilliant new minds of quality pop like Michael McDonald, Jay Graydon and David Foster. That meeting resulted in an elegant pop/rock collection crafted in the same musical vein as big sellers like Kenny Loggins’ “High Adventures” or McDonald’s “If That’s What It Takes.” Foster was one of dominant figures on the Anka sessions and co-wrote the two singles off the album – the romantic ballad “Hold Me ‘Til The Mornin’ Comes” and the catchy up-tempo “Second Chance.” Both songs were Adult Contemporary hits at #2 and #14 respectively. “Hold Me ‘Til The Mornin’ Comes” was a gorgeous duet with Peter Cetera and was the last Top 40 hit of Anka’s career.

Anka’s “Walk A Fine Line” is chocked-full of great songs including the smooth, blue-eyed soul ballad co-written by McDonald called “No Way Out” and another Foster/Anka collaboration labeled “Take Me In Your Arms.” This last song is a refined pop/rocker with strong influences from Toto and Loggins. It has a rich backing track based on keyboards and guitars plus a memorable refrain. Like the rest of the album, “Take Me In Your Arms” benefits from the superior playing of musical geniuses like John Robinson, Nathan East, Steve Lukather and, obviously, Foster. Anka’s vocals are very effective on this number and are clearly inspired by the former Doobie Brothers singer. Anka is supported by the impeccable harmonies of Richard Page and Steve George of Pages and  Mr. Mister fame.

Recently, Anka released a new cd entitled “Duets.” Among the many great songs is a fantastic remake of the “Walk A Fine Line” title track that features co-writer’s Michael McDonald and also George Benson. Listen to it and once again appreciate the artistry and genuine talent of this legendary music-maker.


[audio:|titles=Take Me Your Arms|artists=Paul Anka]

Lead Vocals: Paul Anka
Drums: J.R. Robinson
Bass: Nathan East
Electric Guitars: Marty Walsh & Steve Lukather
Keyboards: David Foster, Michael McDonald & Bill Cuomo
Background Vocals: Richard Page & Steve George

Arranged by David Foster & Paul Anka

Produced by Denny Diante


No Lyrics