Menu Close


Written by David Foster & Anahi Van Zemveghe

Danny Rivera is a veteran Puerto Rican singer/songwriter also well known for his political activism. In 1983, Rivera released an album produced by Humberto Gatica and Erich Bulling. Both originally from central America and eventually relocated in California, Gatica and Bulling were quite active working with latin and brazilian artists like Simone, Djavan, Luis Miguel, Julio Iglesias and several others.

Their collaboration with Rivera is entitled “Danny.” Musically speaking this record leans toward the most sophisticated L.A. sound of those days. The producers assembled a spectacular cast of session guys like the late Jeff Porcaro and Steve Lukather from Toto, Paulinho Da Costa, Neil Stubenhaus, Al McKay, Bill Champlin and David Foster. Foster’s excellent work on various keyboards and synths is in the spotlight on several songs. His piano intro for the ballad, “Mi Viejo Amor” is basically a re-working of “Hard To Say I’m Sorry,” while another elegant ballad, “La Eternidad,” is a cover of Foster’s “My Everlasting Love.” Originally sung by Ray Kennedy, this song is remade with class for Rivera who, unfortunately, isn’t the best singer for this kind of refined material. That’s the only problem with “Danny.” The arrangements and music performances are top notch but we can’t help but wonder what could have been the result with a more quality pop/r&b oriented singer. Fans who appreciate Foster’s sounds of the early Eighties will surely enjoy another classy offering like “Un Mundo De Veinte Anos.” It’s an up-tempo ballad that’s dominated by Foster’s playing and sung by Rivera with good intensity. The singer is also quite effective on the latin tinged atmospheres of “Un Hombre Y Una Mujer.”


[audio:|titles=La Eternidad|artists=Danny Rivera]

Lead Vocals: Danny Rivera
Keyboards & Synths: David Foster, Randy Kerber & Michael Boddicker
Guitars: Steve Lukather
Drums: Jeff Porcaro & Mike Baird
Bass: Neil Stubenhaus

Arranged by Erich Bulling
Synthesizers Arranged and Programmed by Michael Boddicker & David Foster
Produced by Humberto Gatica & Erich Bulling


No Lyrics